AppStore’s Top 200 is no more

When iTunes 9 launched, I mentioned that Apple showcased Top 200 apps instead of previous Top 100. My take on that was mixed as the display was very congested with no app getting any attention.

Well, looks like the numbers were out. Apple today reverted it back to Top 100. You’ll no longer see Top 200 in AppStore.

Screen shot 2009-09-17 at 6.32.29 PM

I think this is a good move. What do you think?

5 comments so far

  1. Gabor Nagy on

    I don’t think there’s a big difference between 100 or 200 items. Top items do get noticed.

    I have an app on the Top 200 list. It never made it to the Top 100. I had a noticeable sales increase when Apple decided to showcase the top 200. Now that iTunes only shows the top 100 apps, my sales are back to what they used to be.

  2. joe on

    i *do* think there’s a big difference. with the top 200, almost top-100 apps became visible and had a good chance of being discovered, and staying visible. once you’re in view it’s self-reinforcing. now, as you say, things are back to where they were: unless you’re top 100 you’re not visible.

  3. AppStoreIcons.com on

    I saw this and had to update the site http://appstoreicons.com again to only show the top 100 apps instead of the top 200 apps.

    It took me a few hours of work to get the Top 200 to work so I am not happy with the reversion back to the old 100.

  4. Gabor Nagy on

    @AppStoreIcons: I’m not sure how you are loading the icons, but using Apple’s iTunes RSS Generator, you can get an RSS feed for the Top 300 Apps.
    http://itunes.apple.com/rss/generator/

    Here’s a page I made a while back to display the top 300 applications:
    http://www.gabor-nagy.com/top300.html

  5. touchmeme on

    I am not against displaying top 200 apps. I am against the design Apple chose for displaying 200 apps. Their previous design didn’t do any good even for developers in top 100. It was really crammed up.

    I still prefer seeing 200 app as long as they follow the current design.


Leave a Reply

